Skip to content

Broken Bells

05/19/2010

Broken Bells

Broken Bells is the collaboration of DangerMouse (of Gorillaz, The Grey Album and Gnarls Barkley fame) teaming up with James Mercer who is the lead singer of the Shins. They came together beautifully on the self-titled debut album. Mercer’s guitars and vocals sound perfect over Dangermouse’s sweeping, aired out beats.

I made an edit of Mongrel Heart to dj with, the only differences from the original track are an extended intro and outro along with cutting out the breakdown (which I love but didn’t think would work in social settings). It’s my favorite song on the album, which I’m guessing will change the more I listen.

Broken Bells “Mongrel Heart (Isaac Jordan edit)”
(download link)

This one really warmed up my soul when it was feeling chilly, 100 thank you’s to my angel who made sure I didn’t sleep on this one.

Buy The album on Amazon HERE.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Deann Mojado permalink
    05/20/2010 4:44 PM

    Everything Dangermouse is involved in just turns to gold. I’m loving everything he’s got a hand in. Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

