Skip to content

Pen & Ink – Lily Mae Martin

03/31/2010

Fine liner & Ink on watercolour paper 59.4 x 84.1 cm

Untitled Fine liner & Ink on watercolour paper 59.4 x 84.1 cm 2010

Artist Statement
My work has always been predominantly figurative. I have a great love of traditional portraiture, however in my work I like to try and capture people in quite an unconventional way. People are incredibly conscious of themselves when in front of a camera and always seems to try to look appealing and sexy. I try to turn this around in my drawings. William Hogarth’s London scenes and Goya’s humorous etchings have strong influences in the direction I’ve taken. My drawing technique has also taken an unconventional path. I create my images using very fine felt-tiped pens, building up thousands upon thousands of tiny lines to produce tone. It is a slow process, but one that works well for me.

Fine liner & Ink on watercolour paper 48 x 36 cm

Munch Fine liner & Ink on watercolour paper 48 x 36 cm 2010

Fine liner & Ink on watercolour paper 59.4 x 84.1 cm

Untitled Fine liner & Ink on watercolour paper 59.4 x 84.1 cm 2010

Fine liner on watercolour paper 35 x 50 cm

Hysteria Fine liner on watercolour paper 35 x 50 cm 2010

Gov’t Issue asks Lily Mae what she’s been listening to:

Music that I have been listening to a lot of late is Amanda Palmer, The Dresden Dolls, Iron & Wine, Regina Spektor, The Stillsons, Laura Marling, Adem, Tunng, Joanna Newsom.. I have a ‘work’ playlist and all these artists are on repeat while I work. I also like Alice in Chains a lot, but I think I have over listened to them for now and need a break!
I also enjoy Edith Piaf, Billie Holiday and Ella Fitzgerald and music of that ilk.

Upcoming Shows
beinArt Collective Group Exhibition at CoproGallery (CA, USA)
Opening Reception, Saturday, June 5 – 8:00 – 11:30 p.m.
Exhibit runs; June 5 – June 26, 2010.

Contact Information
www: http://www.lilymaemartin.com/
email: lily@lilymaemartin.com
twitter: twitter.com/LilyMaeMartin

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/31/2010 3:50 PM

    I LOVE her stuff.. Where can I see more? Or possibly purchase ?

    • 03/31/2010 4:29 PM

      probably contact her via email and check out her website!

  2. 03/31/2010 6:45 PM

    I am always diggin the artists you all turn me on to .. she is Fantastic! and I Love the subtle renering.. obviously the work of passion, patience and diligently tedious subtlety… thanks for the ‘heads up’…She Rawks!!

Leave a Reply

